Hi guys

Well I’ve done another first time event. This time it was a 5k Pretty Muddy for Race for Life.

pretty-muddy-logo

All tattooed up ready for action 💪

I was feeling quite nervous about doing it as I’ve never done anything like this before, the closest was a cross-country run when I was at school – that was a while ago 😕 – but I was also feeling quite excited about it, as I’ve been looking at doing an obstacle race for a while.
I arrive at 9:10am way in advance of my time slot which was 10:45am – though we were told to arrive 45 minutes before our time slot.

There was 10 of us in the group I was with – the Konga Lovelies – the weather started out with sunshine, but that quickly disappeared and we were left with an overcast and cold day.

unspecified-14The warm-up before the race

unspecified-39 The Start Line

We went out in the 4th wave and it started to drizzle ☔ just before our warm-up session. I managed to jog most of the way round, so I’m pretty happy with that, as I’m not a runner.
The course was pretty easy to negotiate – well for me anyway – not too much slippery mud when we went round, but enough to make you pretty muddy 😉. The course went up and down hill, though gentle inclines and declines and there were about 13-14 obstacles to negotiate.
Below are some of the obstacles, there were also some obstacles which you had to climb over, jump over and walk over.

The space hopper section was probably the most difficult part, after getting off my legs were like jelly and I struggled to get my legs to move up the hill 😁, so I ended up walking the short distance to the top, and started to jog again when I got there and to the next challenge 😊. I’m not in the photos for the obstacles unfortunately, as I was too far ahead with one of the other team members.

unspecified-199
Before the big slide

After the big slide

I generally felt good at the end and still had a fair amount of energy, shame it was so cold though, at least the rain had stopped – not that it really matter by then. After going down the big slide, that was when I really felt the cold and got chilled very quickly, plus feeling like I had a soiled nappy on 😂 that wasn’t fun. The drive home was interesting to say the least, with being so wet and muddy. Before getting in the car my dad wrapped me up in an old curtain – yes you read that right a curtain! – and then drove the hour home.

I had a great time doing it, it was lots of fun and I would so do it again 😊. The Konga Lovelies are great bunch of girls, who all nailed it and had smiles on their faces, even at the end 💪😊. Thanks to Jan who organised this group to do this event 😊.

All the photos (except the first 4) are taken by Jan’s other half Oliver.

That’s all for now.
Take Care, Smile and God Bless
Vez

